cinq5

DE | EN

FAQs The Plug III

General Use

1. What is the Plug III?
The Plug III is an independent USB power supply which is powered by a bicycle hub dynamo.

2. What isn't the Plug III?
The Plug III is not a battery charger. The charging functionality is made available by the respective user device. Nevertheless, device operated with two battery cells or batteries (model AAA) usually do not support charging but only operating via the USB port.

3. How can I use the Plug III?
The Plug III is very easy to use; you only need to connect your devices power cable (USB type A) to the connector of the Plug III.

4. What is the Plug III's range of application?
The ranges of application are bicycle tours of all kind. There are no restrictions of usability, it can be installed on trekking-, city-, road-, racing- or mountain bikes.

5. Can I use the Plug III on my E-bike?
No. The Plug III is powered by alternating current delivered by a dynamo hub. Therefore it is not possible to connect it to the direct-current supply of an e-bike battery.

6. Why doesn't the Plug III come with an integrated buffer battery?
Batteries tolerate neither very high nor very low temperatures and therefore shouldn't be used or kept outside in cold winter or blazing sun. That's why we developed a mobile buffer battery, the Smart Power Pack II that can interconnect the Plug III and your device. It can also be charged at a wall socket and can be easily removed from your bicycle to be taken for example into your tent on longer journeys.

7. Is there a buffer battery?
Yes. The cinq buffer battery "Smart Power Pack II" has been developed to perfectly work with the Plug III. More information can be found on our homepage.

8. Can I use the Plug III and a dynamo lighting system at the same time?
Yes, if light and plug are connected in parallel. However it is important to consider the doubled need for power if Plug and light work at the same time. We therefore recommend to operate them in "either or" mode.

9. Is the Plug III protected against theft?
Yes. Due to its bolted connection to the ahead expander, it cannot be taken away easily.

Mobile Devices

1. With which devices can I use the Plug III?
The Plug III works with basically every gadget that can be charged or operated via USB. This is the bigger part of mobile phones, mp3-players and GPS-gadgets. Unfortunately it is not possible for us to test every device, due to the high number of different brands and types. Please determine your devices characteristics on USB charging with the manufacturer.

2. Can I charge more than one gadget at the same time?
Yes, but you need a multi-plug. Further, the power demand of all devices combined cannot be higher than the power provided by the Plug III at given speed. See the diagram below for further information.

3. Do I need a special cable to charge my gadget?
No. Any cable with a type a connector that fits your gadget as well can be used if you can also charge your device from a USB PC-port or wall socket with it.

4. Is my gadgets state of charge of any relevance?
Yes. A fully charged smartphone needs significantly less power than a smartphone that charges itself at the same time. Therefore you can use the Plug III from lower operating speeds on.

5. Can I just charge my gadget without using it?
Yes. If you are only charging your gadget, we recommend turning it off to accelerate the charging process. The charging capacity depends on your device and its battery cell.

6. Can I operate the Plug III incorrectly and damage my device?
No, as long as your device meets the USB standards.

7. Does an interrupted charging process (stop and go traffic) damage my battery cell?
Not if your gadgets battery is a recent lithium-ion or -polymer cell. They indeed have a certain amount of load cycles, but it is irrelevant if you charge them in one go or in little steps. If recurrent gadget requests however annoy you, we recommend using our buffer battery "Smart Power Pack II", which allows uninterrupted charging of your device. For more information see our homepage.

Technical Information

1. Can I turn off the Plug III?
No. The Plug III needs practically no power if you disconnect your gadget.

2. What does it mean when the green LED is on?
The continuously shining green LED indicates an applied voltage of 5V at the USB connector, i.e. the Plug III is provided with enough power from the dynamo and either working or ready to work.

3. What's the meaning of a flashing LED?
The Plug III checks the power provided by the dynamo in certain intervals, and whether it's sufficient to power your end-gadget. If this is not the case, the Plug III will turn off and check again after a few seconds. Generally, a flashing LED indicates that you are driving to slow to power your gadget. Also pay attention to the increased amount of power needed if your lights are turned on.

4. At what speed does the Plug III start working?
This really depends on various elements, e.g. your hub dynamo. The USB voltage of 5V is provided from the speed of about 5km/h if you use a 6V/3W hub dynamo and 26" wheels. The actual functionality strongly depends on your end-device and its power consumption. The approximate speed for GPS-gadgets is 10km/h, but some of the tested, power hungry smartphones started charging at around 20 km/h. The adequate speed for your gadgets power requirement can be taken from the diagram under point 6. If you still want to use the amount of power delivered at low speeds or if you have an extremely power demanding device, we recommend using our buffer battery "Smart Power Pack II", which can charge itself from 7km/h! For more information see our homepage.

5. How much power does the Plug III provide?
The power provided by the Plug III depends on your bicycles speed and the resulting output of the dynamo. You can see the speed and the corresponding output power in the diagram beneath. A Standard 6V/3W hub dynamo and 26" wheels were used for this chart.

Note:

  • The Plug III's output Voltage is always 5V (USB nominal voltage).
  • The USB nominal current of 500mA at 5V is provided from 12km/h. For most gadgets, this is the maximum charging current. Higher speeds will not charge them faster.

6. Can I charge my IPhone or other smartphone on the Plug III?
Yes, without any special cable. The exact functionality of your device depends on its power requirement. If your smartphone shouldn't charge, please see point 8. Tablet computers are often not suited for charging via the Plug III, due to their enormous power demands.

7. How long does it take to charge my smartphone?
As long as it would charge via your computers USB connector. The Device orients itself towards the USB standard of 500mA at 5V. You can also charge your smartphone on the Plug III in its high-speed mode (like on a wall outlet) by using a customary USB adapter with bridged data lines as for example EAN: 4260220076827 respectively ASIN: B004IKTYXM (Amazon). Please pay attention to the fact that the output power needed for your specific device has to be provided by your riding speed. (see point 6).

8. My smartphone doesn't charge on the Plug III, even at adequate speeds!
It rarely occurs that a single Smartphone model cannot be charged at all or only very slowly, due to the manufacturers USB configuration. In this case, we recommend using a customary USB adapter with bridged data lines as for example EAN: 4260220076827 respectively ASIN: B004IKTYXM (Amazon).

9. Is the Plug III splash proof or water proof?
The Plug's electronics are waterproof sealed, the USB connector is protected against spray water. Steam-jets must not be used to clean the Plug!

10. Is the Plug III with plugged in device waterproof?
Water- or splashproofness is not given if a device is connected to the Plug, due to the open connectors on both sides of the cable.

11. Is it a problem if my Plug III's USB-connector shows a little surface rust?
No. The metal part of the connector can start to oxidize, depending on weather conditions and area of use. However, the appearance of a rust film does not affect the connector's functionality. For cleaning purposes, a cotton bud soaked with alcohol can be used. Further, always protect your connector with the dust cap if no cable is plugged in.

Assembly

1. In which bicycles can I install the Plug III?
It can be mounted on any bicycle with 1 1/8" stem and a hole in the fork crown to route the cable. The Plug III is not compatible with "Speedlifters", as they prevent proper routing of the cable.

2. Which hub dynamos can be used to power my Plug III?
The dynamo should provide a power of 3W at a voltage of 6V. Hub dynamos with the mentioned specifications work best with the plug, whereas older sidewall dynamos or models with an output of 1,5W should not be used.

3. How do I connect the Plug III to my dynamo?
The Plug has to be installed in parallel to your front light, as it won't work with turned off lights otherwise.

4. Can I carry out the assembly myself?
Yes, with a little bit of craft talent and the tools according to the installation instructions this should be no problem.

5. What's important about the assembly?
The Plug III should be mounted with the USB-connector facing the front. This ensures maximum protection of your Plug III in case of your bike falling over. You also need to hold the Plug III in its position if you turn your handlebar for transportation. If the Plug is turning together with the handlebar, the cable might be damaged or snap.

6. Do I need special tools to fit the Plug III?
No. Just pay attention to our YouTube tutorial on retrofitting / removal of the star fangled nut.

7. Is there a special star fangled nut available?
Yes. There is a headset expander with a cable tunnel to route the cable inside the steer tube included in delivery. Please pay attention to the retrofitting / removal of the star fangled nut.

8. Can I still adjust the headset easily?
Yes, you can adjust the headset as usual.

cinq5

DE | EN

FAQs The Plug III

Nutzung / Allgemeines

1. Was ist The Plug III?
The Plug III ist eine unabhängige USB-Stromversorgung, die durch einen Fahrrad-Nabendynamo betrieben wird.

2. Was ist The Plug III nicht?
The Plug III ist kein Ladegerät. Die Ladefunktion wird vom jeweiligen Endgerät zur Verfügung gestellt. Bei Geräten mit Akkuzellen oder Batterien (Typ AAA) steht in der Regel nur der Betrieb, nicht jedoch die Lademöglichkeit zur Verfügung.

3. Wie kann ich The Plug III verwenden?
The Plug III ist sehr einfach zu verwenden, denn es muss nur der Stecker des Endgerätes in die USB Buchse (Typ A) eingesteckt werden.

4. Was ist der Einsatzbereich?
Der Einsatzbereich sind Radtouren aller Art. Dabei gibt es keinerlei Beschränkung hinsichtlich des Einsatzbereiches, d.h. er kann sowohl an Trekking-, Reise-, City- und Rennrädern sowie an Mountain Bikes eingesetzt werden.

5. Kann The Plug III an E-Bikes eingesetzt werden?
Nein. The Plug III wird mit Wechselstrom betrieben, wie ihn ein Nabendynamo bereitstellt. Daher ist es nicht möglich, ihn an die Gleichstromversorgung eines E-Bike Akkus anzuschließen.

6. Warum hat The Plug III keinen integrierten Pufferakku?
Da Akkus weder sehr hohe noch sehr niedrige Temperaturen vertragen, sollte man sie weder im tiefen Winter noch in der prallen Sommersonne laden oder in diesen Zeiträumen längerfristig im Freien lassen. Daher bieten wir einen mobilen Pufferakku, den Smart Power Pack II an, der bei Bedarf zwischengeschaltet werden kann. Dieser ermöglicht außerdem ein schnelles Aufladen an der Steckdose, eine Mitnahme ins Zelt auf längeren Touren und bietet viele weitere Vorteile.

7. Gibt es einen Pufferakku?
Ja. Der cinq Pufferakku "Smart Power Pack II" ist optimal auf den Betrieb mit dem Plug III abgestimmt. Hierzu finden Sie die Smart Power Pack II FAQ auf unserer Homepage.

8. Kann ich The Plug III zusammen mit einer Beleuchtungsanlage betreiben?
Ja, wenn The Plug III parallel zum Licht angeschlossen ist. Wichtig ist, zu beachten, dass sich sowohl die Lichtleistung als auch die Leistung des Plug reduzieren, wenn beide Verbraucher auf einmal eingeschaltet sind. Daher empfehlen wir den "entweder oder" Betrieb.

9. Ist The Plug III gegen Diebstahl geschützt?
Ja, da The Plug III am Rad festgeschraubt wird kann dieser nicht einfach abgenommen werden.

Endgeräte

1. Mit welchen Geräten kann ich The Plug III verwenden?
The Plug III kann theoretisch in Kombination mit jedem Gerät betrieben werden, das sich auf den externen USB Betrieb versteht oder sich sogar per USB laden und gleichzeitig betreiben lässt. Dies sollte der Großteil von Mobiltelefonen, MP3 und GPS Geräten sein. Aufgrund der großen Anzahl an Geräten ist es uns nicht möglich, alle Geräte zu testen. Bitte klären Sie mit Ihrem Geräte Hersteller das genaue Verhalten beim Anschluss an eine externe USB-Stromversorgung ab.

2. Kann ich mehrere USB Geräte auf einmal laden?
Ja, allerdings wird hierfür ein USB-Mehrfachstecker benötigt. Des Weiteren darf der Gesamtstrombedarf der angeschlossenen Geräte die bereitgestellte Leistung des Plug III nicht überschreiten. Diese ist von der gefahrenen Geschwindigkeit abhängig und in der Grafik unter Der Rubrik Technik dargestellt.

3. Benötige ich ein spezielles Kabel um mein Gerät zu laden?
Nein. Jedes herkömmliche USB Kabel mit einem passenden Stecker für Ihr Endgerät kann verwendet werden, wenn Sie mit diesem auch am PC oder USB Netzteil laden können.

4. Ist der Ladezustand meines Geräte Akkus relevant?
Ja. Ein voll aufgeladenes Smartphone braucht sehr wenig Leistung und lässt sich daher bei niedrigeren Geschwindigkeiten betreiben als ein Gerät bei dem Ladung und Betrieb gleichzeitig erfolgen.

5. Kann ich ein Gerät auch nur laden?
Ja. Beim reinen Laden von Geräten empfehlen wir diese auszuschalten, um einen schnelleren Ladevorgang zu erzielen. Auch hier hängt die Ladeleistung von Ihrem Endgerät bzw. dessen Akku ab.

6. Kann ich The Plug III falsch bedienen und dadurch mein Endgerät beschädigen?
Nein, so lange ihr Gerät die USB Spezifikation einhält .

7. Schaden häufige Stopps an Ampeln im Stadtverkehr meinem Smartphone Akku?
Nicht falls ihr Endgerät einen modernen Lithium-Ionen oder -Polymer Akku verwendet. Diese haben zwar nur eine bestimmte Anzahl an Ladezyklen, allerdings ist es dabei unerheblich, ob der Akku in einem Rutsch oder in vielen kleinen Schritten geladen wird. Sollten Sie allerdings die Gerätenachfragen bei Ladeunterbrechungen stören, empfehlen wir die Verwendung unseres Puffer Akkus "Smart Power Pack II", welcher eine kontinuierliche Ladung ermöglicht.

Technik

1. Kann ich The Plug III ausschalten?
Nein. The Plug III benötigt praktisch keine Leistung wenn kein Gerät eingesteckt ist.

2. Was bedeutet es wenn die LED leuchtet?
Die grüne LED zeigt Ihnen bei nicht eingestecktem Gerät an, dass der Dynamo genug Leistung bereitstellt um den USB Port mit 5V zu versorgen. Bei eingestecktem Endgerät bedeutet eine leuchtende LED, dass das Gerät mit ausreichend Strom versorgt wird. Bei blinkender LED reicht die gefahrene Geschwindigkeit nicht aus, um die für das Endgerät benötigte Leistung bereitzustellen.

3. Was bedeutet es wenn die LED bei angeschlossenem Gerät blinkt?
The Plug III prüft in gewissen Intervallen, ob der Dynamo (Fahrer) genug Leistung bereitstellt, um das angeschlossene Endgerät zu betreiben. Wenn die LED ausgeht fahren Sie zu langsam und The Plug III prüft nach einigen Sekunden wieder den Status.

4. Ab welcher Geschwindigkeit funktioniert The Plug III?
Dies hängt von unterschiedlichen Faktoren ab, u.a. dem eingesetzten Nabendynamo. Die benötigten 5V werden beispielsweise bei 6V/3W und 26" Laufrädern ab ca. 5km/h bereitgestellt. Die tatsächliche Funktion hängt sehr stark vom angeschlossenen Endgerät und dessen Stromverbrauch ab. Man kann als Richtgeschwindigkeit für GPS Geräte ca. 10 km/h annehmen, bei unseren Tests wurden allerdings einige Smartphones mit sehr hohem Stromverbrauch erst ab ca. 20 km/h geladen. Die benötigte Geschwindigkeit für die jeweilige Leistungsabgabe können Sie der Grafik unter Punkt 6 entnehmen. Um die geringe Leistung des Dynamos auch bei langsamem bergauf Fahren optimal auszunutzen bzw. den Ladeunterbrechungen bei Ampelstopps im Stadtverkehr entgegenzuwirken, empfiehlt es sich unseren Puffer Akku "Smart Power Pack II" einzusetzen - dieser lässt ich schon ab 7 km/h laden!

5. Wieviel Leistung stellt The Plug bereit?
Die bereitgestellte Leistung ist abhängig von der Geschwindigkeit. Diese können Sie anhand nachfolgender Grafik entnehmen. Bei diesen Werten wurden ein handelsüblicher 6V/3W Nabendynamo sowie 26" Laufräder verwendet.

Zur Erläuterung:

  • Die Ausgangsspannung des Plug III beträgt immer 5V.
  • Der USB 2.0 Nennstrom von 500mA bei 5V wird ab ca. 12 km/h bereitgestellt. Dies ist für die meisten Endgeräte der maximale Ladestrom, eine höhere Leistung lädt den Akku trotzdem nicht schneller.

6. Kann ich ein iPhone oder ein anderes Smartphone am Plug III laden/betreiben?
Ja, die Nutzung mit einem iPhone erfolgt ohne spezielles Ladekabel. Die genaue Funktionalität Ihres Smartphones hängt vom Leistungsbedarf Ihres Endgerätes ab. Sollte ihr Smartphone nicht laden, beachten Sie bitte auch Punkt 8. Tablet PCs sind aufgrund ihres enormen Strombedarfs oftmals nicht zum Laden am Plug III geeignet. Hierfür empfiehlt sich unser Pufferakku: der Smart Power Pack II.

7. Wie lange dauert es, mein Smartphone zu laden?
Genau so lange, als wenn Sie es an der USB-Buchse ihres PCs oder Laptop laden. Hierbei orientiert sich das Gerät an den USB Spezifikationen von 500mA bei 5V. Sie können ihr Smartphone auch mit dem jeweils maximalen Ladestrom (wie an der Steckdose) über den PLUG III laden, und zwar unter Verwendung eines herkömmlichen USB-Ladeadapters mit gebrückten Datenleitungen wie z.B. EAN: 4260220076827 bzw. ASIN: B004IKTYXM (Amazon). Beachten Sie allerdings hierbei, dass die für das Gerät nötige Leistung auch durch Ihre Fahrgeschwindigkeit bereitgestellt werden muss (Siehe Punkt 6).

8. Mein Smartphone lässt sich trotz ausreichender Geschwindigkeit nicht am Plug III laden.
Bei einigen Smartphone Modellen kann es aufgrund der herstellerseitigen USB-Konfiguration vorkommen, dass am Plug III nicht oder nur sehr langsam geladen werden kann. In diesem Fall empfehlen wir den Einsatz eines herkömmlichen USB-Ladeadapters mit gebrückten Datenleitungen wie z.B. EAN: 4260220076827 bzw. ASIN: B004IKTYXM (Amazon).

9. Ist The Plug III wasserdicht oder vor Spritzwasser geschützt?
Die Elektronikeinheit des Plug III ist wasserdicht, der USB Stecker vor Spritzwasser geschützt. Dampfstrahler sind unbedingt fern zu halten.

10. Wie ist die Dichtigkeit bei eingestecktem Gerät?
Derzeit ist keine Dichtung bei eingestecktem Gerät gegeben, da bei Anschluss des Verbindungskabels an das Endgerät an diesem ohnehin eine undichte Stelle entsteht.

11. Ist es schlimm, wenn die USB Buchse meines Plug III rostet?
Nein. Je nach Einsatzgebiet und Witterung kann das Metall der Buchse etwas korrodieren. Das ansetzen von "Flugrost" beeinträchtigt die Funktion allerdings nicht. Zur Reinigung können Sie ein Wattestäbchen mit etwas Alkohol verwenden. Des Weiteren besteht die Möglichkeit, unsere verbesserte Schutzkappe nachzurüsten, was die USB Buchse noch besser schützt.

Montage

1. In welche Fahrräder kann ich The Plug III einbauen?
In jedes Rad mit einem Vorbau der dem 1 1/8" Standard entspricht, außer bei unten geschlossenen Carbon Gabeln. Bei Rädern mit Speedlifter kann The Plug III nicht verwendet werden, da die Durchführung von Kabeln im Steuerrohr nicht möglich ist.

2. Welche Dynamos sind für einen Betrieb von The Plug III geeignet?
Der Dynamo sollte eine Leistung von 3W bei einer Spannung von 6V bereitstellen. Optimal eignen sich Nabendynamos mit genannten Spezifikationen. Ältere Seitenläufermodelle sowie 1,5W Dynamos liefern in der Regel nicht genug Leistung.

3. Wie schließe ich The Plug III am Dynamo an?
The Plug III muss parallel zur Lichtanlage geschaltet werden, da er ansonsten bei ausgeschaltetem Licht nicht funktioniert.

4. Kann ich die Montage selbst durchführen?
Ja, zwar sollten Sie die Montage im Zweifel vom Fachhandel durchführen lassen, mit etwas handwerklichen Geschick und dem Werkzeug gemäß Einbauanleitung sollte die Montage jedoch kein Problem sein.

5. Auf was muss ich bei der Montage achten?
Die USB-Buchse des Plug III sollte bei der Montage nach vorne gerichtet sein. Auf diese Weise ist sie optimal vor Stoßschäden bei umfallendem Fahrrad geschützt. In dieser Position müssen Sie The Plug III auch festhalten wenn sie den Lenker zum Transport verdrehen. Sollte sich The Plug III bei diesem Vorgang mitdrehen, ist es möglich dadurch die Zuleitungskabel zu beschädigen.

6. Benötige ich Spezialwerkzeug zur Montage?
Nein. Beachten Sie beim Nachrüsten an Ihrem bestehenden Rad das Ausbauen/Modifizieren der Steuersatzkralle. Hierzu finden Sie auf unserer Website ein Video zum Ausbohren der Kralle.

7. Gibt es eine spezielle Aheadkralle?
Ja. Im Lieferumfang befindet sich eine Ahead- Klemme mit einem Kabelkanal. Diese vereinfacht die Montage sowie den Ein- und Ausbau. Beachten Sie beim Nachrüsten an Ihrem bestehenden Rad das Ausbauen/Modifizieren der Steuersatzkralle.

8. Kann ich den Steuersatz nachstellen?
Ja, sie stellen den Steuersatz wie bei einem normalen Ahead-System nach.